Philosophy of Science

Philosophy of Science is an area of philosophy concerned with the presuppositions, methods and objectives of science. This specialty includes the general and specific scientific theories. With regard to general scientific theories, this specialty is concerned with the general questions of the structure and methodologies of the sciences. With regard to specific scientific theories, these and further questions are applied to the individual sciences. Examples include Philosophy of Physics, Philosophy of Biology as well as Philosophy of Mathematics.

One particular focus within this specialty at Johannes Gutenberg-Universität is contemporary Metaphysics and Philosophy of Science.

N.N. serves as acting head of the Philosophy of Science specialty.

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ralf Busse, who holds the Philosophy of Science professorship, currently serves as acting head of Theoretical Philosophy.